Tuesday, June 9, 2015

Book Review: Grimm Chronicles by Isabella Fontaine & Ken Brosky

The Complete Grimm Chronicles
by Isabella Fontaine, Ken Brosky
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Page count: 1,800 pages

This is the COMPLETE collection of the award-winning Young Adult adventure series!

200 years ago, the Brothers Grimm unleashed their stories upon the world. With the stroke of a magic pen and a deal with a malevolent force of evil, they forever changed humanity’s fate.

Now the characters of the Grimms’ fairy tales walk among us. With every day that passes, they grow more evil. They are the Corrupted, and only a hero can stop them.

This is the story of Alice Goodenough, the last in a long line of heroes who have bravely given their lives to snuff out the evil force that does not belong in this planet. Her story begins during summer vacation, when she happens upon a magic pen and an invisible rabbit named Br’er who is tasked with teaching her the ways of the hero. With the help of the magic pen, Alice must vanquish the terrible creations of the Brothers Grimm, relying on her dreams to guide her to her next target. Cinderella. Fundevogel. A fisherman. An evil wizard. A trio of dwarves hellbent on controlling the world. But to become a great hero, Alice must give up her old life so that she may protect those she loves most. Otherwise, evil will find her.

And evil will kill her.

This book contains all 12 episodes of the series, as well as the bonus “Lost diaries” of previous heroes and all of the collected Grimm’s Fairy Tales … over 2,000 pages collected in one edition!

Book 1: Prince Charming Must Die!
Book 2: Happily Never After
Book 3: Revenge of the Castle Cats
Book 4: The Orphanage of Doom
Book 5: Blood and Thunder
Book 6: The Order of the Golden Dragon
Book 7: The Giant Slayer
Book 8: Darkness Rising
Book 9: Malevolence
Book 10: The Black Towers
Book 11: A Dance With Death, Part One
Book 12: A Dance With Death, Part Two

My opinion:
Back in 2013 I read and reviewed The Grimm Chronicles Volume Three which is books 7-9 of The Grimm Chronicles series. I loved it but I wanted to go back and read every single book in the series from the beginning. Now that I have read books 1-12 my opinion hasn't changed, I still love it! I would definitely recommend that anyone who reads these books start from the beginning because they might  miss some things and get a little confused if they don't. I'm not sure I can choose a favorite book out of the 12. I loved pretty much every single character including the corrupted especially Alice, Briar, Seth, and Sam Grayle. The ending was great but I was a little upset when one of my favorite characters died but I'm over it now... I guess it's fine. I loved that the lost diaries of past heroes and the Grimm’s Fairy Tales from all the corrupted in this series were included. I give this book 5 stars!

I received a free review copy from the author through http://xpressobooktours.com/

No comments:

Post a Comment